Watching the same slide show all day would make anyone dizzy. To give you a pleasant designing experience we disabled the slide show as you logged in the front-end editor. Allowing you to focus on your design work without being distracted by the moving slide show.
But as a result the slide show was also blocked when you, or a customer, viewed the website when logged in the viewing mode in the front-end editor. This ment you could get a complete picture of how the website would look once live. For that reason the slide show is now only disabled when logged in the front-end editor in editing mode.